The MS Code allows individuals charged with certain traffic violations to attend defensive driving schools to keep the ticket off of their driving record. Driving schools are offered for both Juvenile and Adult offenders.
Holders of a Commercial Driver’s License
MS Code 63-9-11 does not allow a holder of a Commercial Driver’s License to attend a driving school regardless whether the violation occurred while operating a commercial motor vehicle or some other vehicle.
Juvenile Driving School
Mississippi Code 63-1-55 authorizes the Municipal Court Judge to use a defensive driving program as an alternative to a conviction for a traffic violation against a minor. The option to attend the driving school is solely at the discretion of the Judge.
The Court is authorized to suspend, by taking and keeping, the minor’s driver’s license for a period not to exceed 90 days. The Court may, in its discretion, add other reasonable conditions of suspension which may include community service, written documents, etc.
Adult Driving School
Mississippi Code 63-9-11 authorizes an individual, not covered under MS Code 63-1-55, the option to participate in not less than four (4) hours of a traffic safety violator course and thereby have no record of the violation. The individual must meet the following requirements:
- have a valid MS driver’s license or permit
- have not been convicted of a traffic violation, be in the process of taking the driving course or have taken the defensive driving course within the last three years
The violator is required to complete the following:
- pay the applicable fine, costs and any assessments required by law to be paid upon conviction of such offense
- pay an addition $10.00 fee to create a non-public record with the Department of Public Safety for tracking of eligibility to participate in the school
- have 90 days, provided payment is made on or before the date written on the ticket, to complete the school and return a certificate of completion to the Clerk of the Court for dismissal of ticket
- have 45 days, after the trial date, to complete the school and return a certificate of completion to the Clerk of the Court for dismissal of the ticket
Out of State Violators
An out of state resident, with a valid driver’s license or permit from that state, shall be allowed to take a substantially similar program in his home state provided all of the other requirements are met.